Go Back   2021-2022 StudyChaCha > StudyChaCha Discussion Forum > General Topics > The Nalanda University was founded by

Thread: The Nalanda University was founded by Reply to Thread The Nalanda University was founded by
Your Username: Click here to log in
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:

Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

Topic Review (Newest First)
March 18th, 2016 01:59 PM
Sumit Bhardwaj
Re: The Nalanda University was founded by

On 28 March 2006, former President of India A. P. J. Abdul Kalam proposed the idea while addressing the Joint Session of the Bihar Vidhan Mandal for revival of Nalanda University.

The Nalanda University Bill, 2010 was passed on 21 August 2010 in Rajya Sabha and 26 August 2010 in Lok Sabha.

The bill received Presidential assent on 21 September 2010 thereby becoming an Act. The University came into existence on 25 November 2010, when the Act was implemented.

Japan promised to finance the construction. Singapore may pay for the library, costing US$5m.

It has been estimated that US$500m will be required to build the new facility, with a further US$500m needed to sufficiently improve the surrounding infrastructure.

The group is looking for donations from governments, private individuals and religious groups.

The State Government of Bihar handed over 443 acres (179 ha) of land acquired from local people, to the University, where construction work has begun.

For best architectural design, a global competition was held for construction of an international state-of-the-art institution.

Vastu Shilpa Consultants have been selected as the winner of the design competition with dbHMS providing the triple net-zero energy, water and waste strategic plan.

Governing Board

As of July 2015, the Governing Board of Nalanda University consists of:

• George Yeo – University Chancellor and former Minister for Foreign Affairs of Singapore.
• Amartya Sen – Professor at Harvard University.
• Sugata Bose – Professor at Harvard University.
• Wang Bangwei – Professor at Peking University.
• Wang Gungwu – Professor at National University of Singapore.
• Susumu Nakanishi – Professor at Kyoto City University of Arts.
• Meghnad Desai – Emeritus Professor at London School of Economics.
• A. Prapod – Professor at Chulalongkorn University.
• Tansen Sen – Associate Professor at Baruch College, CUNY.
• Nand Kishore Singh – Member of Parliament – Rajya Sabha, India.
• Anil Wadhwa-Secretary (East) Ministry of External Affairs
• Gopa Sabharwal – Vice-Chancellor Nalanda University

Schools and Departments
Currently two schools have been established
• School of Historical Studies
• School of Environment and Ecological Studies
The following schools will be started later, in a phased manner
• School of Buddhist Studies, Philosophy and Comparative Religion (to be started from 2016-17 session)
• School of Languages and Literature
• School of International Relations and Peace Studies
• School of Information Sciences and Technology
• School of Business Management (Public Policy and Development Studies)

Contact Detail:
Nalanda University
Nalanda District, Rajgir, Bihar 803116
March 18th, 2016 01:37 PM
The Nalanda University was founded by

Can you tell me about the Nalanda University in detail? List me the names of Governing Board of Nalanda University? Provide me the contact detail of Nalanda University as well?

All times are GMT +6.5. The time now is 09:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8