Go Back   2018-2019 StudyChaCha > >

Old December 27th, 2011, 06:25 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 91
Default Re: GCE Examination in India

GCE examinations in India

The General Certificate of education (GCE) provides the basic qualification for entrance to higher and professional studies in the United Kingdom. The examinations are conducted at two main levels: Ordinary (O), and Advanced (A) levels.

The 0-level, available to overseas students only and is generally taken after ten years of study. Candidates may enter the examination at any age provided that they can meet the requirements of syllabuses. While it is not compulsory to do 0-levels for a candidate with secondary qualification, it is important to keep in mind that some universities ask for a specific number of 0-levels subjects. Normally 0-levels in five subjects qualifies one to go for A-level.

The A-level examinations normally taken two years after the 0-levels, pave the way for entrance into undergraduate studies in universities and colleges. To apply for entrance to an undergraduate degree, a minimum of three A-level subject is required. However, it is important to keep in mind that individual entrance requirements of universities or vocational institutions may vary.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links


Reply to this Question / Ask Another Question
Your Username: Click here to log in


Forum Jump

All times are GMT +6.5. The time now is 06:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.42 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.