Go Back   2021-2022 StudyChaCha > StudyChaCha Discussion Forum > General Topics

Old September 13th, 2017, 12:47 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2011
Default Re: History of Department of Science and Technology

Department of Science & Technology (DST) was established in May 1971, with the objective of promoting new areas of Science & Technology as well as to play the role of a nodal department for organising, coordinating and also promoting S&T activities in the country.

The Department has major responsibilities for specific projects and programmes as listed in the below file.

Major Responsibilities for Specific Projects and Programmes - Department of Science & Technology (DST)

Mission and Objectives

The Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India was built up on the third of May 1971 after the achievement of Green revolution,that implied imaginative sending of logical procedures. . In the course of the last forty three years, DST built up a few streams that later settled themselves as divisions or even services with centered objectives. Some of these incorporate the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR), Ministry of Environment and Forests (MoEF), Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), Department of Electronics (DoE) and Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES). The DST fills in as a nodal organization interfacing the science area to the Government verticals.

The parts played by DST are differed and these advanced with time. DST is as needs be (a) Develops S&T strategies, (b) Strengthens HR and institutional limits, (c) Enables improvement and arrangement of advancements, (d) Creates open doors for societal intercessions through S and T and (e) Establishes and takes part in systems of participation, associations and unions.

The DST has reliably empowered transformational changes through suitable reactions and regularly non-participative parts. DST as needs be assumed the part of an additional painting research financing organization wherein aggressive stipends for look into was given to examiners in view of specialized legitimacy. This framework was in vogue for about three decades. DST additionally took discernment of a few changes in approaches far and wide, finished the years and advanced its own particular frameworks adjusted to India's needs.

DST guarantees an amalgamation of the result of arrangements, plans, projects and activities through fitting forward and in reverse linkages. Global S&T collaboration with amicable nations had turned into a national need and DST was alloted the errand. Along these lines, DST sets up deliberately imperative frameworks/systems to fortify and encourage perfection and authority in logical innovative work. These are lined up with India's formative yearnings and will additionally help solidify the specialty it has built up in a few outskirts at the national, territorial and worldwide levels.

Organization Structure

Dr. Harsh Vardhan
Hon’ďle Union Minister of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences

Shri Y.S.Chowdary
Hon’ďle Minister of State of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences
Prof. Ashutosh Sharma
Secretary & Chief Vigilance Officer

Scientific Division
Fund for Improvement of S&T Infrastructure (FIST)
Women Scientist Program
International S&T Cooperation
Mega Facilities
Swaranjayanti Fellowship
Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojna (KVPY)
National S&T Management Information System (NSTMIS)
Drugs & Pharmaceuticals Research
Good Laboratory Practices
Instrumentation Development Program
National Resource Data Management System
National Spatial Data Infrastructure
Big Data Initiative
Climate Change Program
Cognitive Science Research Initiative
National Supercomputing Mission

Technology Development Board
Science & Engineering Research Board

Subordinate Office
National Atlas & Thematic Mapping Organization
Survey of India

JS (A)


Autonomous Institutes Division

Agarkar Research Institute, Pune
Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Science
Center for Nano and Soft Matter Sciences, Bangalore
Indian Association for Cultivation of Sciences, Kolkata
Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeobotany, Lucknow
Bose Institute, Kolkata
Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore
Indian Institute of Geomagentism, Mumbai
International Advanced Research Center for Powder Metallurgy and New Materials
Institute of Advanced Study in Science and Technology, Guwahati
Institute of Nano Science and Technology, Mohali
Jawaharlal Nehru Center for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore
Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology, Thirvuanantpuram
Raman Research Institute, Bangalore
SN Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata
Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun
Vigyan Prasar, New Delhi
National Innovation Foundation, Ahmedabad
North East Center for Technology Applications and Reach, Shillong
National Accreditation Board for Testing & Calibration Laboratories, New Delhi
Technology Information Forecasting and Assessment Council, New Delhi
National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad
Indian National Academy of Engineering, New Delhi
Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi
Indian Science Congress Association, Kolkata
Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore
Answered By StudyChaCha Member
Reply With Quote

Reply to this Question / Ask Another Question
Your Username: Click here to log in


All times are GMT +6.5. The time now is 11:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8