Go Back   2020-2021 StudyChaCha > StudyChaCha Discussion Forum > General Topics

Old November 25th, 2016, 07:00 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Re: When Did RBI Became The Central Bank Of India

The Reserve Bank of India is India's central banking institution, which controls the monetary policy of the Indian rupee.

It was established on 1 April 1935 and nationalised on 1 January 1949.

The RBI plays an important part in the Development Strategy of the Government of India.

It is a member bank of the Asian Clearing Union.

The bank is a leading member of the Alliance for Financial Inclusion (AFI).

The Reserve Bank of India has four zonal offices at Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata and Mumbai.

It has 19 regional offices and 10 sub-offices.

Regional offices are located in Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Delhi, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, Patna and Thiruvananthapuram.

It also has 9 sub-offices located in Agartala, Dehradun, Gangtok, Panaji, Raipur, Ranchi, Shillong, Shimla and Srinagar.

The Reserve Bank of India has four regional representations: North in New Delhi, South in Chennai, East in Kolkata and West in Mumbai


Central Office Building, Shahid Bhagat Singh Road, Fort, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400001
Phone:022 2260 1000
Answered By StudyChaCha Member
Reply With Quote

Reply to this Question / Ask Another Question
Your Username: Click here to log in


All times are GMT +6.5. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8