Go Back   2020-2021 StudyChaCha > StudyChaCha Discussion Forum > General Topics

Old May 14th, 2016, 04:38 PM
Default Dhanbad IIT

Can you tell me if The Indian School of Mines (ISM) Dhanbad has been converted into an Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) from the session 2016 – 17?
Reply With Quote
Other Discussions related to this topic
Bsc in ISM Dhanbad
Where is IIT Dhanbad
ISM Dhanbad becomes IIT
ISM Dhanbad Now IIT
ISM Dhanbad for MBA
ISM Dhanbad To IIT Dhanbad
ISM Dhanbad As IIT
ISM Dhanbad For Phd
ISM Dhanbad-Indian School of Mines Dhanbad India
M Sc in ISM Dhanbad
Cut off for ISM Dhanbad
ISM Dhanbad EE
FMS ISM Dhanbad
ISM 'Dhanbad
ISM Dhanbad
B.C.C.L Dhanbad
DAV Dhanbad
MBA Dhanbad
IIT Dhanbad

Old May 14th, 2016, 05:49 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Re: Dhanbad IIT

The Union Finance Minister Mr. Arun Jaitley, during his budget speech in Parliament on 28 February 2015, had proposed to convert The Indian School of Mines (ISM) Dhanbad into an Indian Institute of Technology (IIT).

Recently, Jharkhand Chief Minister Sh. Raghuvar Das met Mrs. Smriti Irani, MHRD and Centre assured the state of all possible assistance for improving the education standard in Jharkhand.

After his meeting with Union HRD minister, Das said that the meeting was highly satisfactory as Jharkhand received many benefits, including formation of Sanskrit University in Deoghar as well as commencing IIT classes from this session itself at ISM Dhanbad

ISM Dhanbad

It is an educational institute of India and which was established by British Indian Government on the lines of the Royal School of Mines - London, and was formally opened on 9 December 1926 by Lord Irwin, the then Viceroy of India.

It started as an institution to impart mining education, and has grown into a technical institution with various departments. It admits its undergraduate students through Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced), previously IIT-JEE.

It has 18 academic departments covering Engineering, Applied Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences and Management programs.

Departments and Centres

• Engineering
• Department of Chemical Engineering
• Department of Civil Engineering
• Department of Computer Science and Engineering
• Department of Electrical Engineering
• Department of Electronics Engineering
• Department of Environmental Engineering
• Department of Fuel and Mineral Engineering
• Department of Mechanical Engineering
• Department of Mining Engineering
• Department of Mining Machinery Engineering
• Department of Petroleum Engineering
• Applied Sciences
• Department of Applied Chemistry
• Department of Applied Geology
• Department of Applied Geophysics
• Department of Applied Mathematics
• Department of Applied Physics
Social Sciences
• Department of Humanities and Social Science
• Department of Management Studies (Formerly Industrial Engineering & Management)
• Centre of Mining Environment
• Computer Centre
• Center for Renewable Energy
• Center of Societal Mission
Answered By StudyChaCha Member
Reply With Quote

Reply to this Question / Ask Another Question
Your Username: Click here to log in


All times are GMT +6.5. The time now is 06:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8